TMX, Blog & Stuff

I’m pleased to see that there’s been quite a support from readers, at least mentally – many have e-mailed me about the blog, most feeling sad about the way things are looking.

However, not that many have actually offered their help, except for those who have written articles (to be posted later – you know who you are) and sent screenshots. But, neither of those two things is enough.

BCS Santino, though, have come up with a suggestion about reviews and screenshots – a sort of mix between JAG Media and The TMU Blog. His suggestion involves getting about 8-10 steady reviewers who will review tracks, in a slightly more simple manner than the current system, based on certain environments and styles.

This would allow things to keep going, but the problems are: 1) Still requires a lot of work, 2) getting the 8-10 reviewers (who should be skilled in organizing and writing in English, plus have the time and devotion to keep reviewing) would be challenging, and 3) would turn the blog more into a review-portal than anything else (even though articles could still be submitted).

I’ve basically turned Santino down already, as I’ve also been offered a staff position at TMX (and the original problem of lack of time still remains, so doing both would be even more challenging).

I’m telling you this to get a final idea about where the blog readers stand. There’s no way the blog is going back to normal, but what do you think of the idea of having more reviews and a cooperative connection to JAG Media instead? Are you able to help (“I like the idea, but I don’t want to/can’t help you with, for example, reviews” doesn’t really make things easier for me)? Would you rather see me organizing “official” contests/events at TMX (I know many of you guys are active TMX members) on a semi-regular basis, than continue my work here at the blog?

In my point of view, the blog could still keep going as long as Alcator, Djoszee and “guest writers” submit something once in a while, and as long as screenshots keep coming in. The idea about reviews, an aspect that will otherwise most likely be very slow or disappear completely, might be a bit too much, but could also be exactly what you guys want – what do I know? And the postition at TMX – it would basically mean more MTC’s and other contests from me at TMX, with the difference that it’s official TMX events!

I’m interested in your opinion, so start commenting or send me an e-mail: Jozii@pp.inet.fi!

10 Responses to TMX, Blog & Stuff

  1. alcator says:

    I’m still available for video shooting both in low-res and hi-res for reviews; there’s also the possibility of making reviews simply “video-based”: A video of two or three cars on a track, nothing more needs to be added…?

  2. BCS[Santino] says:

    I’d like to be more involved in the screenshot side if things. JAG is a design portal and is happy to design screenshots for people free of charge, it also has a section for winners gallery screenshots which is very new, and we have an upload screenshot section for contests.

    I fully understand you going down the TM-X route, who wouldn’t. We wish you the best of luck in whatever you decide to do!

  3. djoszee says:

    I’d say take the tmx job and let this be a place for articles and screenshots. Maybe you can affiliate with santino, so he can take the trackreviews to his site.

  4. BCS[Santino] says:

    I could and would take the track reviews if wanted. I have the resources and friends in the TMU community and would like to run with your TRACKS I commitment, so that there is not to much change! On the BCS site. We currently have a track upload section for BCS Tracks. I can easily create one for the blog called: BLOG Tracks!

    Its not difficult, and I would be able to do this every week, if we fall behind then a backlog will be set up.. to follow all requests sent in. Members who register then just upload their own tracks with or without a screenshot 320×240 and we then comment and make a thorough assessment set down with your guidelines and stipulations for track reviews.

    Anything is achievable if you put your mind to it.

  5. alcator says:

    Santino: It would be good to keep the tracks mainly on TMX; no good shattering the resources (i.e., some download from TMX and some from some other site).

  6. Jozii says:

    I’ll have to agree with Alcator there.

  7. BCS[Santino] says:

    Fair do’s.

    good luck

  8. djoszee says:

    I thought we were talking about reviews all along, not tracks…
    hmm

  9. Pjotr says:

    what about making a standard survey
    for each category about 5 to 10 questions with a rating 1 to 6 (or 1 to 10…. Whatever)
    let e few reviewers fill in this survey and make eventually some extra notes
    then average the scores and there is a review.

  10. Jozii says:

    Hmm, interesting…

Leave a Reply

