Christmas Holiday

Today I’ll be off on another vacation, meaning posting is – once again – uncertain. We pulled through last Christmas, and even the summer holidays were pretty stable. However, both those times I had planned ahead, gathering enough material to pre-post. This time is different.

I’d like to wish you a very marry Christmas and a happy new year. Whether I’ll find the time and material to post something during the holidays is uncertain (although not completely unlikely), as is the position of this blog for 2008.

We’ll see how things turn out, but I can tell you one thing: should it be decided that the TMU Blog will be closed for good, we’ve got close to 100 000 coppers to hand out. Got any suggestions on how that could be done in an interesting way? A racing contest sounds to me too standard, but then agin, TMU is a racing game. Another way would be to add the coppers to the TMU Lottery (which I apologize for not having updated in a long time, by the way), which could be more suited for the blog, but perhaps also not as related to the game. Any ideas are welcome!

Also, I won’t be able to answer my e-mail or in-game messages until January 3rd.

So for now, enjoy the holidays 😀

18 Responses to Christmas Holiday

  1. micster says:

    Give them all to me. 😛

    Seriously though, with that many coppers at stake, it’s GOT to be something related to skill. Apart from track racing and building, I have no idea.

  2. Homie says:

    You can spend some of these coppers to me 😛
    …so I can make more contests at my Homepage, which is similar to your Blog xD

  3. djoszee says:

    dude, you have too much ideas…who said one or two posts a week was bad?

  4. alcator says:

    Split the cash among those who sent you articles, proportionally by the number of posts. 🙂

    (Just kidding, ATP were trying to accumulate coppers for purchasing TMU for those members who don’t have it yet, we managed to purchase 2 or 3 I think)

  5. TimeBreaker says:

    seriously,
    use the coppers for you 🙂
    buy tmu serials with the coppers, sell them on ebay for real money and see it as an xmas present from all of us 🙂

  6. micster says:

    Whoa whoa whoa,

    You can buy TMU with COPPERS?!!

  7. Jozii says:

    I thought the copper offer was out (the limit was reached)… It’s still on? Cool!

  8. micster says:

    In that case, how about you buy 1 or 2 copies of TMU and use them as prizes? 😀

  9. RKO90 says:

    that would be a cool idea, indeed 😉

  10. DABH says:

    I think it would be nice if you just split up the coppers between everybody that’s taken a part in the blog… that’s really not so many people if you look at it, so everyone would get a fair number of coppers 🙂 TMU serials would be good, too, but I’d rather have coppers to do stuff with than just another TMU profile I have to sign into every day to get coppers 😛

  11. micster says:

    Haven’t we already been paid for the articles we have created though? 😛

  12. Jozii says:

    Giving away games is a good idea, but seriously, it does seem pointless to give TMU to a TMU player… But then again, they do offer other (crap) games, right?

    I guess the coppers could be split in some way – some to the most active readers (how to determine who those are can be harder, though), some in a skill-related contest, some extra for the lottery, etc.

    Today it snows, btw, as you can see 😛

  13. micster says:

    Well we could use those as backups, or send them to friends who want them too. 🙂

    And I agree with spliting the coppers.

    Wow, it is snowing. 😛

  14. TimeBreaker says:

    oh its snowing here 😉

    if i get any coppers , i spend them right back to jozii 😉 youre the one spedning so much time here 😛

  15. Hastings says:

    This is pathetic.

    Jozii is assuming the worst-case scenario, closing down the TMU Blog, and you’re happily chatting about how to spend the remaining coppers. Seems like you’ve arranged yourself with the thought of having no more blog, instead of writing articles, proposing ideas or at least supporting him with words.

    Pff.

  16. djoszee says:

    Indeed…you guys are totally unserious, and if I may say so…so are you jozii 😦

    You have alcator and Pjotr as regular writers, and also some guestwriters like DABH, Djoszee and Hastings wrote some articles as well. I think you did not gave this enough thought. Like I said before, we don’t expect a new article every day! Who said two articles a week are wrong. Alcator has been writing articles for long time, who said he wanted to give up.

    You should remain director, and give assignments to people who valunteer to write. Maybe you can hire some more staff, and give them some of the coppers you want to spend. If you want to mass-spend those coppers, you should host some competitions (don’t use them all at once)

    Give this some more though please Jozii, and reply with your thoughts here.

    From the guy with a nickname sounding almost the same,
    Djoszee

  17. Jozii says:

    No, I’m quite serious. I don’t think I can go on hosting this blog. Even if I don’t write a single piece myself anymore, I still have to do the publishing, reading and correcting (you’d be surprised at some of the articles people send in 😛 I often have to do quite a bit of grammar and spellchecking), etc.

    Besides, Alcator too seems to be quite busy as well (he no longer writes one article/week, if you haven’t noticed) with his wife and newborn child and all. He has already pointed out that time is lacking. Pjotr writes a review every two weeks or so. DABH and you Djoszee have both drifted away, even though you’re both in the position of co-authors. And, whenever I ask for the help of the community, it’s like a few people who take the initiative to do something – far from what would be needed to keep this blog alive.

    I’d rather see a “proper” and official ending than seeing the blog slowly be forgotten.

    Although you are right… I’d much rather see the blog continue, pretty much without me having to double check everything. And, I do have the power to give people publishing rights, so I don’t have to check every article myself.

    The ideal thing would be to give people a certain area to write on/organize (articles, reviews, contest, etc.) and give each person a certain day of the week or something where they have to publish their work. That way things could run smoothly, without me being there all the time. But, getting people with the will, initative and motive to do so is hard.

Leave a Reply

